Dare reentry permits now available for businesses, non-resident property owners and residents

Dare reentry permits now available for businesses, non-resident property owners and residents

June 2nd, 2022

Dare County Emergency Management encourages all Dare County residents, non-resident property owners and business owners to obtain their permit as soon as possible now that hurricane season is underway.

To enter Dare County following a mandatory evacuation, individuals must present a current and valid reentry permit—expired reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted. Reentry permits, which are issued as a PDF file that is sent via email to applicants with the required credentials, can be obtained via Dare County’s online system at any time.

Once they have been issued, reentry permits expire at the end of the calendar year. Individuals who were issued 2021 reentry permits—with the exception of business owners/managers who have previously been issued permits—will need to apply for a new reentry permit for the current calendar year.

To obtain a 2022 reentry permit from Dare County Emergency Management, visit DareNC.com/Reentry.

Dare County Business Owners/Managers

Dare County businesses owners who have been approved for reentry permits in the past do not need to reapply. Their assigned “administrator” can manage their permits and only needs to contact Dare County Emergency Management if changes to their accounts need to be made.

Such changes might include assigning a new “administrator” or changing the number of permits allocated to their business. If you are a new Dare County business owner or manager applying for a reentry permit for yourself or your staff members for the first time, click Business Owner/Manager Reentry Permits

Staged Reentry Process

Dare County operates a staged reentry process that is used to facilitate a safe and orderly return to the community following an evacuation that has taken place. Dare County Emergency Management reminds the public that no one will be denied reentry as long as they have obtained and can present the proper forms of identification to checkpoint officials.

Dare County’s reentry process is staged in order of the priority of an individual returning to the community during the recovery period that follows a storm and includes the following four categories:

  • Priority One: Essential Personnel. (Essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel and damage assessment personnel).
  • Priority Two: Permanent Residents and Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses. (Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as grocery stores, food distributors, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management companies, building supply stores and hotels).
  • Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses.
  • Priority Four: General Public and Visitors. (No reentry permit is needed for Priority Four).

Apply for 2022 Reentry Permits

If you are a Dare County business owner or manager applying for a reentry permit for yourself or your staff members, click here. If you are a Dare County resident, click here. If you are a non-resident property owner, click here.

REMINDER: In order to enter Dare County following a mandatory evacuation, individuals must present a current and valid reentry permit. Expired reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted.

Currituck County & Hyde County Residents

If you are a Currituck County or Hyde County resident, you do not need to apply for a Dare County reentry permit. Currituck County reentry information can be found here. Hyde County information can be found here. Valid reentry permits issued by Currituck County and Hyde County will be honored at traffic control points in Dare County according to their phased reentry schedule.

Sign Up for OBX Alerts

Logo for OBX AlertsDare County Emergency Management reminds individuals to sign up to receive emergency alerts—including severe weather watches and warnings, public safety and emergency-related warnings, countywide evacuation orders and other time-critical notifications—via the new OBX Alerts platform by visiting www.OBXAlerts.com.

For more information about the hazards associated with storms that affect Dare County, including a wide array of resources to help you prepare for the upcoming hurricane season, click the button below to download the Dare County Hurricane Guide.

Share this Article

Subscribe for Daily Updates

Invalid email address
Send this to a friend